<

HELLO MARCH! Book Talk, Giveaway and Lagniappe.

Written By: Jackie Weger - Mar• 12•19

 

Happening Now! Books on 99c Special or Free by your favorite authors. And a Giveaway. Four Amazing gifts. Four winners. Hundreds of $$$ in prizes. Accepting entrants now. Of course you’re lucky! All of our fans are so Enter now! But! Before you wander off to enter the Giveaway, read about some great books below. By now all of you know what Lagniappe means ~ a little something extra… You’ll find ten Reader Appreciation gifts at the bottom of this blog. First come, first get it. Just click on the Leprechaun to claim your gift with love, from Jackie Weger.

But first let’s talk about books. I have some wonderful suggestions for you. Whether you’re a writer or a reader, The African Queen is a must read. C. S. Forester wrote it before books got genre labeled beyond Fiction or Non-Fiction. It’s a sweet romantic adventure. Yes, you’ve seen the movie. Forester wrote it as if he were looking over the shoulders of Rosie and Charlie. My first copy cost 35 cents/126 pages. Charlie Allnutt is the epitome of an anti-hero.  Rose Sayer, the straight-laced virgin is stubborn, determined and snags her man. This is the book that taught me to take my time in setting up the story. Which meant ignoring all who said the first line has to grab the reader. The next thing I learned is the book description is the ‘hook’. Not an author intrusion trick opening that reads: “Joe Blow ate his usual breakfast of a soft boiled egg and dry toast. Joe didn’t know it was the last breakfast he’d ever eat.” Pass on that. Now let me introduce you to some contemporary writers I love.

First up, a captivating romantic mystery by Debra Burroughs ~ The Pursuit of Lies. Private eye Emily Parker wears moxie like the rest of us wear lipstick.  Emily’s boyfriend is accused of murder and she’s the only one who can save him. Fans of Janet Evanovich and  Barbara Freethy will devour this book and go back for more.   On Amazon. The print edition is the perfect for your Spring Break book bag.

Here’s an emotionally charged story you won’t put down. In A Bend in The Willow by Susan Clayton-Goldner. Robin Lee Carter sets a fire that kills her attacker, then reinvents herself and is living a respectable life as Catherine Henry, married to a medical school dean in Tucson, Arizona. Now her five-year-old son, is diagnosed with a terminal disease and needs the bone marrow of the nineteen-year-old son Robin gave up for adoption. He’s the son of her attacker. Returning to her hometown will put her in the path of a murder charge. Robin risks everything dear to her to save the life of her child. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah will enjoy A Bend in the Willow. On Amazon. The print edition is just right for when March wind blows cold and you need to cozy up to a log fire.

JP McLean is a new author to me and has done the unexpected in her new series The Gift Legacy. In Secret Sky McLean has combined fantasy with thriller. It works. Emelynn Taylor is the unwitting recipient of a special gift.  When gravity loses its grip, she’s sent airborne without warning, terrified, and unchecked. In a desperate bid to control the gift, she returns to the seaside home where it all began only to discover a dangerous underworld. An underworld that wants her dead. The closest reference I can think of is Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. On Amazon. Print edition suitable for all ages, especially for teens who have outgrown the Harry Potter series.

Next, a character you will adore as I do. Meet Darcy Walker in No Brainer, created by AJ Lape in her Darcy Walker series. This series is touted as young adult but, I’m telling you it is great reading for all ages. It has it all: Mystery, humor, suspense, crime and when she’s not in trouble or causing trouble, Darcy manages a bit of romance. Darcy is as much outrageous fun as Lula in the Stephanie Plum novels. On Amazon. Print Edition. Audiobook: The audiobook is great for car travel. Just be ready to pull over when you’re laughing so hard to you can’t see to drive.

The newest hottest genre is hockey sports romance. Jacquie Biggar nails it in Skating on Thin IceHockey can be a  dangerous sport, especially when millions of dollars are at stake. Sam knows everything she needs to know. She has the skill to help Alpha male and hockey favorite Mac ‘The Hammer’ Wanowski recover from his injuries. But a killer is on the loose and has Sam, the team’s physical therapist in his sights. Mac already lost one woman he loved and is determined not to lose another. On Amazon.

Oh My. Mary Campisi has created a new wonderful four book family Saga in the Reunion Gap Series. Strangers Like Us is the first in this extraordinary small town series. It’s romance at it’s best with secrets, good intentions that go awry, small town gossip and a love story between Rogan Donovan and Elizabeth Hayes that gets turned on its head. Telling you upfront, I’m a years long fan of Mary Campisi’s books. They’re superbly written and as addictive as Godiva Chocolates.  On Amazon. Print edition.

 

TEN READER APPRECIATION GIFTS.  FIRST COME, FIRST SNAG IT.  JUST CLICK ON THE LEPRECHAUN AND CLAIM YOUR PRIZE. ENJOY!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jackie Weger @2019.  Thanks for stopping by. Comments Welcome. If you have a favorite book, share. Word- of-mouth is a writer’s best advert.

 

 

 

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

16 Comments

  1. I’ve only watched The African Queen on TV, now I want to get the book! These all look fabulous.
    I recently read (and gave a 5+ starred review) to End of Day by Mae Clair. If you like graveyards and things that go bump in the night, you’ll love this story 🙂

    • Jackie Weger says:

      Jacquie: Thanks for that recommendation. I haven’t read End of Day. It may sound morbid, but I always visit graveyards.
      Some of the oldest are in St. Augustine, Florida. The Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche at Mission Nombre de Dios was where Christianity came ashore with
      Pedro Menéndez de Avilés in 1565. I was astonished to see not only the headstones of priests, but nuns, too. We always learn of the Spanish priests, but seldom of the nuns who also came with settlers. The stories the headstones tell are incredible and a feast for the imagination.

  2. AB Plum says:

    Something in this list for everyone … and an incentive to re-read TAQ. I’ve always thought the movie did the book justice..

    • Jackie Weger says:

      Barbara: The movie did do the book justice. I’ve had the book in hand while watching the movie. I was amazed that the dialogue in the book and the movie was the same.
      Both are wonderful.

  3. Donna Fasano (@DonnaFaz) says:

    I clicked a leprechaun and got a message, “You cannot win another copy… it is already in your Kindle Library.” I bought it when your book first came out. 🙂 I’ll read it ASAP and post a review, Jackie.

  4. Tina Wainscott says:

    These all sound great! One of the 2 books I’m reading is Swear on This Life, by Renee Carlino. Love it so far!

  5. Linda Lee says:

    Thank you, Jackie! I can’t wait to read another one of your heartwarming stories. All of the books in this post sound great. Pinned & shared. 🙂

  6. srmallery says:

    Everything looks GREAT! Thanks for all the work that you do, Jackie! xo

  7. African Queen is my other half’s favourite film – he’s in love with Kate Hepburn, too! I’m ashamed to say, I didn’t even know it was based on a romantic novel…I do now.
    I think Riders by Jilly Cooper remains my all-time favourite romantic read.
    Thanks for the leprechauns, Jackie, but I’m not in the States, however, I have a few already on my kindle.
    x

    • Jackie Weger says:

      I hear you Rosie Dean. Those books are Amazon Giveaways–USA only.
      Thanks for the tip about Jilly Cooper. I haven’t read her books in a while.
      I need to look them up.

  8. Wonderful picks at great prices here. Thanks, Jackie. I am reading Kostas Krommydas’s new release, Lake of Memories and it’s unputownable. His Greek stories have a great sense of destiny, and the prose is highly descriptive, making me feel immersed fully in his world. I’ve read all his books and this one is going to be one of my favorites, I can tell.

  9. As an English teacher I always encouraged my students to read the book before you see the movie. That hasn’t changed. The African Queen is a perfect example of that, although the movie was good too.

  10. P. C. Zick says:

    Wonderful choices. Going to grab mine now!

Leave a Reply